Cannon on north wall

Civic and ceremonial

The Mayor and Deputy Mayor are the chairman and vice-chairman of the council.

The Mayor for the 2021/22 council year is Cllr Brian Larcombe and the mayoress is Wendy Larcombe.

The Deputy Mayor for the 2021/22 council year is Cllr Kelsey Ellis and the deputy mayor's consort is Jed Catling.

Cllr Larcombe was elected to this position by the council in 2018 and is serving his third term of office. Cllr Ellis was elected to the position in 2021 and is serving her first term of office.

The Mayor's chosen charity is Children's Hospice South West, which provides free care and support for more than 500 children with life-limiting conditions and their families across the South West. More information about the charity can be found on their website.

The civic party is made up of the Mayor, Deputy Mayor, town clerk, two macebearers and the town crier. The town crier is Alan Vian, who has served in this role since 2012.

All civic enquiries, including invites to attend an event, should be made to Kerry Weekley, administrative assistant on 01297 445175 or