03 May 2019

Lyme Regis Town Council election

Ammonites on beach

An election will take place for Lyme Regis Town Council as 16 candidates put their names forward for the upcoming local elections.

It was announced by Dorset Council on 4 April that the election would be contested and electors will be asked to vote on Thursday 2 May.

There are 14 seats on Lyme Regis Town Council. Four of the existing councillors will be standing down – Derek Hallett, Pat Hicks, Patrick Ridley and Owen Lovell. Ten of the existing councillors are hoping to retain their seats – John Broom, Richard Doney, Michaela Ellis, Brian Larcombe, Sean Larcombe, Steve Miller, Cheryl Reynolds, Jeff Scowen, Graham Turner and Stan Williams. There are six new faces seeking election – Belinda Bawden, Kelsey Ellis, Leon Howe, David Ruffle, David Sarson and Gillian Stammers.

Electors have up to 14 votes but do not have to use all their votes. Polling stations will be at Woodmead Halls and Hallett Court and electors should have received their polling cards by now.